Who Killed Mr. Moonlight?

Posted: February 4, 2014 in Music
Tags: , , ,

I recently saw Gary Numan play an incredible show at the Hollywood Forever Cemetery. It was a cool, crisp, late fall Southern California night when I pulled onto the property and found a spot to park, across from a darkened mausoleum, the tiny glow of a single candle emanating from within. As I stepped out of the car, a light, cold breeze tickled the iconic palm trees that lord over the cemetery, a constant reminder that this otherworldly place still sits smack in the middle of Los Angeles.  The landscape was bathed in the light of a full moon, accented by long shadows stretching from the bases of a multitude of marble headstones of all shapes and sizes. As I started making my way to the venue, the historic Mason’s Lodge near the entrance, I started reciting the following lyrics in my head:

 All our dreams have melted down
We’re hiding in the bushes
From dead men
Doing Douglas Fairbanks’ stunts
Extracting wasps from stings in flight
Who Killed Mr. Moonlight

Although “Bela Lugosi’s Dead” was my first date, it was “Who Killed Mr. Moonlight” that sparked my undying love for Bauhaus.


A few days ago, on a whim, I decided to join a couple of friends to see a free David J show at The Slidebar in Fullerton. I really didn’t have any expectations other than getting out of the house to see live music by someone I admire greatly. I figured it would be a set from David’s solo work and that was it. I hadn’t bothered to actually check David J’s website…the  show was really just a good excuse to get out of the house and hook up with friends.

The night kicked up a notch when I found David J before the set…and he was willing to pose for a photo. I’m not the photo guy type, I tend to keep my fanboyish-ness to myself, mainly out of what I perceive as  respect for the artist; but this seemed like a natural thing to do…and he was very nice to accommodate.

David J @ The Slidebar

David J @ The Slidebar

Then the show started…and it started with a Love and Rockets song and didn’t look back. Quite unexpectedly, David J and his band managed to play almost all of my favorite Love and Rockets songs, including “Haunted When The Minutes Drag” and “Holiday on the Moon” [Thank you Mr. President].

In fact, it was an all Love and Rockets set, aside from one of his solo songs, “I’ll Be Your Chauffeur,” and a Bauhaus song. That song, “Who Killed Mr. Moonlight.”

I’m still buzzing from that show.

Comments
  1. Melissa Desjardin says:

    I’m now pining for live music! Nothing like a great show that reaches deep in your soul!

  2. […] I saw Gary Numan play another amazing show at The Mayan in Los Angeles last night. It was the second time I had seen him in the space of 6 months (I briefly talk about the first time  on an earlier post…go read it or reread it…NOW). […]

Leave a Reply

