The Queen is Dead

Posted: January 27, 2014 in Music
Tags: , , ,

The Queen is Dead

Here’s how this particular trip down the rabbit hole went:

When I started this post, I wasn’t sure where I was going to go. All I knew was I wanted to highlight a couple of bands I saw at The Echo back in December…

Holograms
TV Ghost

I started with referencing one of my favorite movies, Riding Giants (Mavericks is going off today as of the time of this writing). Unfortunately, it became too convoluted…and thematically weird.

Then, I thought I would examine post-punk…because that’s the overwhelming influence on both of these bands. This led me to Wikipedia and a quote from Jon Savage describing the sound of post-punk and groups like Devo, Throbbing Gristle, Siouxsie and The Banshees and The Slits like:

harsh urban scrapings/controlled white noise/massively accented drumming

This brought me to a 2010 article by Jon Savage in The Guardian: The Queen Is Dead is an anthem for our times:

http://www.theguardian.com/music/musicblog/2010/dec/15/smiths-queen-is-dead

And finally I ended up here:

The Smiths…the greatest band of my time. And yours.

Leave a Reply

